It was the end of Fall 2006 when I met my husband, the accountant. At the time, he wasn't an accountant but a handsome and motivated young business student. I was studying Communication at a nearby university. He was quiet and a little reserved. I was outgoing and had a people-oriented personality. He was a saver and I was a spender.

After a brief three months of dating, we were insanely in love and already talking about getting married. Even then, we still talked about our dreams and our finances. We were so young too, just 18 and 19 years old but just like anyone else, we wanted to get married, have kids, and live in the house with the picket fence.

In college, I was so terrible with money. I got my first credit card and I swiped that thing wherever I went. I even over-drafted my account a few times. I had this mentality of urgency and if I saw something I liked, I should just use my credit card and make it mine. I had a hard time telling myself, "no."

The accountant, on the other hand, was so careful with money. He paid for his own education and took on 18 credit hours (on average) each semester while working about 20 hours at a part time job at a restaurant. He really worked hard and I knew my money issues bothered him. I remember him looking me in the eyes and saying, "Do you want to marry me?" "Of course I do!," I replied enthusiastically. The accountant told me that we needed to spend as little as we could and save as much as possible. I loved him and I wanted him to be my husband someday so that's just what I did. In the late summer of 2009, we got married with just $1,300 in the bank. 

No, that was not a fat bank account for a newly married couple. I wept tears of joy and relief when my husband was hired full time as an accountant. I was pregnant at the time and we both decided that it would be best if I stayed home with the baby. By now, my spending habits had drastically improved. However, I still had some room for growth. After all, we now had to learn how to live off of one salary with a little one on the way.

Tomorrow, I will share with you how we did this. I will also reveal the money saving mentalities that I learned from my husband, the accountant, and all of his accountant friends. Stay tuned!




Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.